The family of a deceased 70-year-old Carroll County woman is questioning the severity of charges that may be filed against the driver who killed her. The car accident occurred in March when the 24-year-old driver of a pick-up truck clipped another vehicle and became airborne. His truck landed on the 70-year-old woman’s car, which was traveling on the other side of the road.
The woman’s family is upset because it appears the driver of the pick-up will be charged with misdemeanor vehicular homicide. The victim’s family points to the massive damage to the 70-year-old woman’s car and the 24-year-old man’s driving record. Over the last few years, he has had a dozen citations or arrests for reckless driving and speeding. The family of the victim is asking the Carroll County District Attorney to file felony charges.
In Georgia, charges of misdemeanor vehicular homicide are usually filed when the accident is the result of failing to follow traffic laws such as improper lane change or following too close. If drugs or alcohol are involved, the driver flees the accident scene, drove recklessly or over took a school bus, the charge can rise to the felony level. The misdemeanor charges can lead up to a year in prison and a $1,000 fine.
Death in a car accident can cause great loss to the family of the victim. It is a difficult time, and the family may wish to allow a Motor Vehicle Accident attorney to review the case. Nothing is going to bring a victim back, but it may be possible to reach a settlement that offers monetary compensation for the loss of a family member.
Source: My Fox Atlanta, “Family of victim in fatal car crash upset no arrest made,” Chris Shaw, May 13, 2013
Source: Georgia Code, “Title 40, Section 40-6-393, ” April 26, 2006